Picture This

Well a week has passed (quite quickly too!) since I posted up the bridge picture. Time to see how things went.

Thanks again goes to my talented friend Sara Hannaford for both taking the photo and graciously allowing me to use it for a photo prompt. I have to say that when I saw the photo for the first time I could here a gentle whispering calling to me. It was then I knew there was a story in it that needed to get out.

I was also pleased to see that the voices also choose to speak to a couple of other talented people as well! They are listed below;

“Broken” by Selena Wolff

“The Bridges of Fantasy County” by Billie Jo Woods

“The Train” by Knot2Share

 “Bridge” by yours truly

Thank you all for joining in! Now on to this week’s picture. While these challenges are more for myself, all of you are more than welcome to play too. If you feel a story speaking to you from the image (and you have time!), by all means please share it with us. If not, maybe next week’s picture will, so no worries, no stress, no deadlines, remember the object is to have some fun!

Guidelines (not rules),

  1. Have fun. No stressing allowed! If you get stressed I’ll be forced to find you and challenge you to a squirt gun fight! (I am truly awesome at squirt gun fighting so beware)
  2. Write the genre that the picture tells you to. You hear mushy, then write mushy. You hear mystery, then write mystery. And if by chance you hear Alien-Zombie-Werewolf-Apocalypse, I really really want to read that story!!!!!
  3. Word count. Hmmm? More than 1 and less than 1,000,000 will be fine. Seriously let the story decide, they usually know long to be. But if you need a firm number, not more than 1500 words should work well.
  4. Post a link to your wonderful story in the comments below, and I’ll list any on the next weeks posting.
  5. Oh yeah, have fun. Yes I’ve said that already, but its worth saying again!

I thought that I would try something a bit different for the new prompt. Matter of fact, you might say that I could “bearly” control myself this time round.

“Day 164: Cozied Up” by Snugg LePup (Flickr)

So good writing (and listening) to you all, and I’ll see you all back here next week. Same prompt time. Same prompt channel.

Cheers!

14 thoughts on “Picture This

  1. Pingback: 100 Posts…What? Already? | Sonia G Medeiros

  2. Pingback: Little Marcus « A space to be Me

  3. Pingback: A Well Respected Gentleman – Flash Fiction « The Outlandish Avocado

    • Hi C.M.,

      First welcome to the campfire. Fear not, too late does not exist here at the fire ring.

      I love this story! While I normally don’t make suggestions, I think this would be an awesome children’s story that could be expanded upon. (Huge fan of Sendak and “Where the Wild Things Are”).

      Thanks for sharing and very very very sorry it took long to respond to your comment (OK sometimes late does exist here 🙂 )!

  4. Pingback: » Challenge Taken: Once-Upon-A-Time yikici

  5. Hi Ken,
    Did you forget about me?
    I love the picture! I missed you in my August flash fiction challenge. But as you can see, I was unable to come up with an entry for yours. So don’t feel bad. I love the picture though.

    By the way, is there a subscription button for your blog? I would subscribe if I could find it 🙂

    • Haley,

      How could I forget my first writing friend?!? 🙂

      Sadly I still can’t seem to here the story myself 😦

      As for the sign up button, it should be there somewhere below the Twitter button. Let me know if you still can’t see it, it might be the template I’m using.

Leave a Reply

