Sarahann’s Shoppe of Earthbound Souls

So who’s up for a bit of challenge? (Quite down Selena, the others can’t hear me over your wicked laughter!) This past March I spent two nights in a place that I’m going say is/was moderately haunted. While the jury is still out on what exactly I may have experienced, I have developed an interest in ghost stories (both real and fictional).

One of the stories I came across, was that of a British soldier that was bound to an antique bed which he was reported to have owned while he walked among the living. It was discovered by a couple that had bought the bed, he had no problem with a woman sleeping in it, but men where strictly NOT welcome at all! All this made me wonder (a dangerous thing I know) how many other earthbound souls remained attached to an object that had once belonged to them?

So here’s the challenge. Write a story about a haunted item. It can be of any length (I have found that good stories often know how long to be). Beyond that, go where the story takes you. Be sad, be dark, be creepy, have the character(s) live happily NEVER after! Then post your stories on your own site and remember to link it back to this challenge. In early November I’ll post the links for each story in one wrap up post.

“1906 Edwardian Lady With Bonnet” shared by ShutterlyHappy (Flickr)

For those who would like a bit of back story, allow me to introduce you to Sarahann. She is the owner of the “Shoppe of Earthbound Souls” which rather conveniently deals in haunted antiques. She knows the story of each piece in the collection, and she is happy to share them with any would be purchasers. She also happens to be a ghost as well. Her store likes to “pop” up here and there, and more than once a patron has returned to the store’s site only to find a burned out shell of a house or vacant lot.

Feel free to use her in any story you might dream up, I only ask that you keep her neutral, she is NOT evil and would never endanger a living soul. She has been known to give warnings to would be buyers of particularly nasty or ill intentioned antiquities which may or may not be heeded by mere mortals. Sometimes those impulse buys come back to haunt us in the end!

Both Sarahann and myself are dying to read your creations! Hope you have a fun Octo”boo”er and good luck wordsmithing.

Ken

26 thoughts on “Sarahann’s Shoppe of Earthbound Souls

  1. Pingback: The Eyes of the Cat « There By Candlelight

    • Amusing side note. When I told the name of the story to my wife, my own cat gave me a look that could be interpreted, were I in a mood to anthropomorphize him, as hurt betrayal.

      • My cat (of complaint) often gives me looks that range from feed me, to poor silly human, to I wouldn’t fall asleep around me tonight if I were you!

        • Mine normally looks at me as if to say “Go to sleep now… and leave your wallet where I can get to it. I need your credit card to order more tuna online.”

          The worst part is when he emails these instructions to me.

    • What a great evil story. A “purr”fect start to my challenge. Thanks for sharing so quickly! I look forward to reading more of your stories in the future.

  2. Pingback: Flash Fiction Challenge for Halloween

  3. Oooo I just got a chill reading that! I’ll certainly give this a try Sarahanns sounds like an interesting character. 🙂 Already I can hear the voices in my head-A-ticking!

  4. Pingback: » Challenge Taken: Sarahann’s Warning yikici

  5. Hi Ken,

    I’ve stopped by because you were recommended as part of my Make A Difference Blog hop. Not that I don’t mind dropping by anyway 😉

    I promise I will get a story written by the end of the month even if I am writing on Halloween. Maybe that is the inspiration I need. I love the challenge, Ken. Didn’t know that it was inspired by a real haunted place. The problem I’m having is that I haven’t picked an idea yet. I have too many!

  6. Oooh, that’s a bit shiver-making. Came by as part of the Make A Difference Bloghop and I’m almost lured into telling my ‘missing toast’ story. I’ll see if I can make it succinct enough for this challenge. Great idea and really like the blog.

  7. Pingback: Sarahann’s Shoppe of Earthbound Souls/ Book of Souls | Portable Magick

  8. What a fabulous challenge! I really wanted to join it. I thought I had an idea I loved but I just couldn’t find my way into the story. I kept trying yesterday but the story wouldn’t hold together (my daughter being sick and grumpy didn’t help either. Sigh.) Something will probably gel eventually. I’ll post it then, even if it’s too late for the challenge. Anyhow, I’m looking forward to reading all the stories. 😀

  9. Pingback: Happy Haunting! | Sonia G Medeiros

  10. Okay, I did put my story in the wrong place. I made a couple of revisions so it would fit better into this category…I think I had the wrong one. Anyhow, hope it’s entertaining. One thing – one of my readers, a sensible and practical lady with tons of good advice, stories and pictures, was “creeped out” by this story, i.e. it is a little gory. As I say in my story post, “Caveat lector!” (Reader, beware!)

    http://fantasyfic.wordpress.com/2011/10/29/once-upon-a-mirror-dreary/

  11. Pingback: Once Upon a Mirror Dreary | Fantasyfic

Leave a Reply

